ejabberd 2.1.0 finally released

ejabberd 2.1.0 is finally released, and it comes with an enormous list of 314 new features, improvements and bugfixes. It has been 21 months since the last major ejabberd release 2.0.0, and 8 months since 2.0.5.

Very brief list of additions:

  • Erlang/OTP R13 support
  • HTTP-Bind (BOSH) optimization and clean-up
  • LDAPS support
  • MUC rooms can require a CAPTCHA to join the room
  • PubSub: major improvements. Update to XEP version 1.12
  • PEP and Caps: many improvements
  • Run commands with ejabberdctl or other frontends (XML-RPC, HTTP)
  • STUN server
  • XEPs like: XMPP Ping, Roster Versioning, Import/Export Format

Check the Release Notes for a more complete list of changes:

If you upgrade from a previous ejabberd version, read carefully the release notes, because there were several changes in the installation path and the configuration options.

The list of solved tickets since 2.0.0 is available on ProcessOne bug tracker:

ejabberd 2.1.0 is available as source code package and binary installers for Linux 32 bits, 64 bits, Mac OS X Intel, and Windows:


A big thank you to everyone who helped in the ejabberd project during the last months. This list is extracted from ejabberd’s commit log between version 2.0.0 and 2.1.0:

Alexander Tsvyashchenko, Alexey Shchepin, Anastasia Gornostaeva, Andreas Ntaflos, Andreas van Cranenburgh, Andrzej Smyk, Andy Harb, Andy Skelton, Anton Podavalov, Apag0r, Attila Vangel, Badlop, Brian Cully, Carlos E. Lopez, Chris Newcombe, Christoph Anton Mitterer, Christophe Romain, Christopher Dupont, Clochix, Dariusz Markowicz, Dominges, Doruk Fisek, Eric Cestari, Etan Reisner, Evgeniy Khramtsov, Fabrice Colliot, Felix Geyer, Gabriele Stilli, Geoff Cant, George Hazan, Glenn Sieb, Graham Whitted, Gustaf Alströmer, Igor Goryachev, Jack Moffitt, Jacob Vorreuter, James Iakovos Mandelis, Jan Kusanagi, Janusz Dziemidowicz, Jeffrey Rogiers, Jon Bendtsen, Jonathan Auer, Jonathan Schleifer, Juan Pablo Carlino, Justin Boffemmyer, Justin Kirby, Jérôme Sautret, Kevin Crosbie, Konstantin Khomoutov, Luca Brivio, Lukáš Polívka, Magnus Henoch, Marcin Owsiany, Marek Bečka, Martin Langhoff, Massimiliano Mirra, Mats Cronqvist, Matthew Reilly, Maxim Ryazanov, Michal Schmidt, Mickaël Rémond, Myers Carpenter, Neustradamus, Nicolas Vérité, Nikolaus Polak, Oleg Palij, Otávio Fernandes, Pablo Polvorin, Pablo Saratxaga, Paul Guyot, Pedro Melo, Philipp Hancke, Ruslan Rakhmanin, Sergei Golovan, Shelley Shyan, Smart2128, Spike, Stefan Strigler, Stephan Maka, Stian B. Barmen, Thomas, Thomas Baden, Thore Alstromer, Tsukasa Hamano, Vincent Barat, Viq, Zbyszek Żółkiewski, and Zhan Caibao.

Let us know what you think 💬

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.